Where Am I At?

For the first week I was two days ahead of my timeline but since I just got back from a trip to France I ended up falling behind by a day because I had to catch on my assignments and was ill for about a week which slowed me down a bit. I have a decent amount of my milestones overlapping one another in my timeline because they are completely different components that don’t require a previous setup up like storyboarding and colouring do. Before I can start storyboarding I need to get the character designs done and the common setting sketches finished as well since there’s just no way that starting that without finishing the foundation would be productive.

To get a better understanding of what I’m talking about, here’s a visual to help you out.

Timeline

As you can see, storyboarding and colouring do not overlap whatsoever. Comic cover designing and social media are the only two that can be done at the same time as those storyboarding and colouring because they don’t require any prior preparations.

Let’s take a step back for a second and talk about me being a bit behind. Will this affect my progress? Well, not really. I say that with complete confidence in myself to get things done. I know that I’m a bit behind and it doesn’t worry me whatsoever, because I came to Propel knowing that I wanted to do art and when I found out what I wanted to do, I became completely obsessed and super motivated to work on my project. I know that I will continue to spend countless hours on making this comic idea become a reality. This is probably the only thing I am confident about and that is that I know that falling behind a bit won’t slow me down because I will work into the late hours of the night, every night, until I get up to date.

The next few weeks will consist of me catching up on common setting sketches and character designs, then I will start my storyboarding process. This may not sound like a lot of things to do in a few weeks, but it’s quite the opposite. For those of you who are not familiar with art, a simple sketch needs to start off with some brainstorming which can take anywhere from five minutes to five hours. After brainstorming, you start to narrow down the idea more and finally make a really rough sketch of it. Believe me when I say that rough sketches don’t look that pretty, so you must work on cleaning up your image which can take about an hour or two and you end up with… just a simple sketch that needs feedback and revision. The process is always tedious, but oh so fun! I genuinely can’t wait to stop writing this blog post so that I can go back to creating the story I envisioned a few months ago. I can’t wait to finish my project!

Leave a comment